Rotary National Award for Space



Achievement

Abbey, George W.S. Albaugh, James F. Aldridge, Edward C. Bolden, Charles F. Brandenstein, Dan Cabana, Robert D. Callahan, Lisa Campbell, Donald J. Carr, Jeffrey E. Carreau, Mark E. Cazes, David Chilton, Kevin P. Coats, Michael L. Collins, Eileen M. Cothran, Brad Covey, Richard O. Crippen, Robert Culbertson, Frank L. Dittemore. Ronald D. Elachi, Charles Elbon, John W. Engle, Joe H. Flynt, G. Allen Free, James M. Fuqua, Donald Gerstenmaier, William H. Griffin, Gerald D. Griffin, Michael D. Grunsfeld, John M. Hartz, Jim Heflin, J. Milt Hendershot, Cynthia Hernandez, Jorge Hieb, Richard J. Holloway, Tommy W. Hutchinson, Neil B. Hutchison, Kay Bailey Johnson, Sandra G. Karas, John C. Kavandi, Janet L Kerwin, Joseph P. Kranz, Eugene F. Kropp, Debbie Lightfoot, Robert Lillard, Randolph Magnus, Sandra H. May, Todd A. McBride, David D. McDonald, Vernon Meyerson, Robert E. Mitchell, Bob Mulholland, John P. Nield, George C. O'Brien, Miles Ochoa, Ellen Parsons, William W. Pickens, Thomas B. Readdy, William F. Reightler, Kenneth S. Schmitt, Harrison H. Scolese Christopher J. Shaw, Brewster H. Sirangelo, Mark N. Stafford, Thomas P. Staples, William A. Stegemoeller, Charles M. Stephens, Richard D. Suffredini, Michael Swallow, Edward M. Thompson, David W. Truly, Richard H. Vantine, William Wagner, Elizabeth Whitesides, George Wyche, Vanessa E.

For Immediate Release
May 3, 2022
Media Contact Lindsey Cousins
281-723-5683
lindsey@baysidegraphics.net



RNASA Foundation Honors Gwynne Shotwell and Stellar Winners

HOUSTON, Texas (May 3, 2023). The Rotary National Award for Space Achievement (RNASA) Foundation presented the National Space Trophy (NST) to **Gwynne Shotwell**, President and COO of SpaceX at the RNASA 35th annual black-tie Space Awards Gala on **April 28, 2023** at the Houston Hyatt Regency.

RNASA Foundation Chairman Rodolfo González welcomed the guests to gala, saying that "The RNASA Foundation's mission is to encourage, recognize, honor, and celebrate U.S. space achievement. The members of the foundation truly appreciate the enormity of work that tonight's audience represents."

The Clear Brook High School JROTC Color Guard presented the colors, followed by Danny Myers, who sang the National Anthem and a rendition of "Fly Me to the Moon". Reverend Dr. Will Rushing, Pastor at University Baptist Church, provided the invocation.

After dinner, the program kicked off with a year-in-review film by **Space City Films**. **John Zarrella**, former CNN correspondent served as the emcee. In his opening remarks, John remarked, "I am thrilled to be back, and honored to serve as master of ceremonies for an event that celebrates both the history of space exploration and the accomplishments of so many important contributors."

Rotary National Award for Space



Achievement

Michael Suffredini, Axiom Space President and CEO, was the featured speaker. He commented "The future of commercial space is here and brighter than ever. Thanks to trailblazers like Gwynne we stand at the precipice of new era in space exploration. An era where access to low earth orbit is no longer a privilege reserved for a select few but a shared resource that unites nations, organizations and individuals to assume knowledge and innovation."

Stellar Awards were presented to 19 individuals and 9 teams. The Stellar Award winners were announced by NASA Astronauts **Bob Hines**, and **Kate Rubins**, who then presented them with engraved marble trophies. The Stellar Awards were presented in Early Career, Mid-Career, Late Career, and Team categories.

Rob Meyerson, Founder and CEO of Delalune Space presented the prestigious National Space Trophy to **Gwynne Shotwell**. While introducing Gwynne, Rob commented "launching Americas astronauts to space is an honor that hand been entrusted to small number of companies the thought that a young startup, an outsider could shatter the status quo and help America regain its leadership in human spaceflight...Gwynne and her team at Space X did just that."

During her acceptance speech, Shotwell remarked "The partnerships that we have shared with NASA through the joy and tears has been extraordinary." When speaking about one such joint partnership, Gwynne said "It (Starship) represented an extraordinary success for us. We will look back on April 20, 2023 and realize that was the moment that we knew that we could go live on other planets. Now we all know we can go to the Moon but that was the day that we can look back and say we can go past the moon.....and that's actually why I work at SpaceX because I want to be part of the group of folks that have worked enough, demonstrated enough that we can ultimately get people flying out amongst the stars."

Lt. Gen **Thomas P. Stafford**, USAF (Ret.), Gemini and Apollo astronaut, and the 1993 National Space Trophy winner, presented an **OMEGA** speedmaster watch to Shotwell. Stafford commented "you have shown a strong performance over many years in various aspects of the aerospace industry. We have had six successful launches of the Falcon Dragon and I wish you many, many more."

A portrait of Shotwell by **Pat Rawlings** was on display at the gala and used as the cover of the souvenir program. The portrait will become part of the National Space Trophy display at Space Center Houston for one year.

RNASA Chairman Rodolfo González concluded the evening by thanking the Foundation's corporate sponsors whose support and achievements made the event possible: Aegis Aerospace, Inc., Aerojet Rocketdyne, The Aerospace Corporation, All Points Logistics, ARES Corporation, ASRC Federal, Axiom Space, Barrios Technology, Bastion Technologies, Inc., Blue Origin, The Boeing Company, CACI International, Collins Aerospace, Deloitte, Draper, ERC, Ethos, GeoControl Systems Inc, ICON, Jacobs, JES Tech, KBR, Leidos, Lockheed Martin, MORI Associates, MRI Technologies, Nanoracks, Northrop Grumman, Oceaneering International, Paragon Space Development, SAIC, SpaceX, TEAGUE, TTTech North America, Inc., United Launch Alliance, V2X, Vericon Technical Services, and Wellby Financial.

Rotary National Award for Space



Achievement

Visit http://www.rnasa.org/photos.html for images from the event.

The Rotary National Award for Space Achievement (RNASA) Foundation's black-tie Gala on April 28, 2023, was recorded live, in its entirety, by Space City Films and is accessible on the website's agenda page, www.rnasa.org/agenda.html.

About the RNASA Foundation: The Rotary National Award for Space Achievement (RNASA) Foundation was founded by the Space Center Rotary Club of Houston, Texas in 1985 to organize and coordinate an annual event to recognize outstanding achievements in space and create greater public awareness of the benefits of space exploration. The nonprofit Foundation presents the National Space Trophy and Stellar Awards each year. See http://www.rnasa.org for more information