## 2009 Stellar Award Nominees LATE CAREER

**James P. Bray of Lockheed Martin** - Outstanding leadership that has fostered a positive joint-ownership environment with NASA and contractor team members in the development of the Orion service module.

Jerry Burn of ATK Launch Systems - Exceptional contributions to the reusable solid rocket motor (RSRM) through knowledge of its joints, seals, propellant and ballistics, and advancement of models and analytical methods that have vastly improved RSRM reliability.

**Scott A. Cannon of ATK Launch Systems** - Vision, leadership and technical excellence in executing of the complex task of guiding multiple organizations to a successful Ares I first stage Preliminary Design Review milestone.

**Cordell Christensen of ATK Launch Systems** - Exceptional knowledge, personal dedication and leadership abilities instrumental in maintaining and enhancing manufacturing capabilities in support of NASA critical hardware and human spaceflight.

**Lynn F. H. Cline of NASA Headquarters** - Exceptional contributions to the global community through realized human and robotic partnerships and discoveries in space.

**Mike DeVault of The Boeing Company** - Outstanding leadership in transitioning and improving the engineering organization of Boeing Space Shuttle program integration

Luis A. Duarte of NASA Marshall Space Flight Center - Outstanding dedication to the pursuit of safety in human spaceflight through work on the Marshall Space Flight Center Safety and Engineering Review Panel.

**Jon D. Frandsen of Pratt & Whitney Rocketdyne** - Exceptional materials and processes technical expertise and leadership to the Space Shuttle main engine in support of flight safety.

Anita E. Gale of The Boeing Company - Relentless pursuit of more cost-effective cargo integration approaches, reducing both time and budget required to integrate payloads and vehicles and to deliver payloads to orbit.

**Robert R. Graber of SAIC** - Outstanding dedication, extensive analytical expertise, and contributions to quantitative risk analysis tools and methodologies in support of human spaceflight programs resulting in improved reliability, maintainability, supportability, and better informed risk-based decisionmaking.

Continued on next page



2008 Late-Career Category Stellar Award Winners

L to R: Astronaut Leland Melvin (presenting), James D. Milhoan, Stephen M. Francois, Beth Williams accepting for Paul Kharmats, Peggy E. Thomas, Charles R. Knarr, David B. Harris, and Astronaut Sunni Williams (presenting). (NASA)



2009 ROTARY NATIONAL AWARD FOR SPACE ACHIEVEMENT

## Continued from previous page

**Steven V. Hicken of ATK Launch Systems** - Relentless pursuit of truth and understanding in the rigorous investigation of an Ares I first stage rocket motor insulation processing anomaly leading to a revolutionary insulation process methodology improvement.

**Dan E. Jackson of Barrios Technology** - Innovative leadership in redefining JSCMission Operations Directorate software engineering practices for the 21st century, and enabling advances in automation resulting in a reduction of ISS manual commanding by 10 percent

**William A. Johns of Lockheed Martin** - Exceptional achievements on the Orion project by reducing weight and power while maintaining focus on overall technical goals through management of the Orion Review Board.

**Dr. Stephen W. Kahler of the USAF, Air Force Research Laboratory** - Pioneering research in solar energetic particles and their relationship to solar flares and coronal mass ejections, leading toward early warning and eventual prediction of these potentially dangerous events.

**Thomas D. Kmiec of Pratt & Whitney Rocketdyne** - Outstanding technical ability and leadership in rocket engine components and systems resulting in successful NASA and DoD missions and institutionalization of systems engineering practices.

John B. Lauger of The Boeing Company - Outstanding leadership and technical contributions to the ISS that have advanced the nation's human space program.

**Dr. Oleg M. Lvovsky of ARES Corporation** - Nationally recognized contributions to human spaceflight test and verification, preserving and improving the integrity of NASA requirements, and ensuring future spaceflight successes.

**Lon F. Miller of Jacobs Technology, Inc.** - Exemplary career demonstrating extraordinary leadership qualities and dedication in support of NASA missions and the broader goals of space exploration

**Dr. Kornel Nagy of NASA JSC** - Exceptional technical leadership, judgment, and engineering excellence in the field of aerospace structural and mechanical systems.

**J. Gary Rankin of NASA JSC** - Exceptional technical contributions and leadership throughout an exemplary career in research, development, design, and operations of human spacecraft thermal control systems, including the Space Shuttle and ISS programs.

**Ruel Russell of ARES Corporation** - Invaluable contributions to safety and success of ISS visiting vehicle designs, resolving rendezvous and collision avoidance issues and realizing adequate controls and verification for catastrophic hazards.

**Lincoln J. Salvador of The Boeing Company** - Exceptional leadership, technical expertise, and integrity in managing Space Shuttle orbiter mechanical systems.

**Thomas V. Sanzone of Hamilton Sundstrand** - Exceptional contributions to EVA during a 40-plus year career, from the first human on the moon to current preparations for a return to the moon, Mars and beyond.

James H. Stramler of Barrios Technology - Unwavering dedication to duty as the spacecraft human factors and habitability expert in the Astronaut Office at the JSC, resulting in numerous key contributions to the design and construction of ISS hardware.

**Glen E. Weeks of Pratt & Whitney Rocketdyne** - Exceptional leadership and technical excellence in consistently assuring the on-time delivery of Space Shuttle main engine turbopump hardware.

**Dr. Yiting Wen of MEI Technologies, Inc.** - Exceptional contributions to the development and characterization of advanced detector systems for NASA's science missions.

**Robert D. White of United Space Alliance** - Exceptional dedication, broad orbiter knowledge, logical thought process, methodical execution and outstanding communication skills in service to human spaceflight.

Michael J. Witt of Pratt & Whitney Rocketdyne - Exceptional technical leadership and guidance in ensuring mission success of the RS-68 main propulsion system for the Evolved Expendable Launch Vehicle program.