2009 Stellar Award Nominees EARLY CAREER

2009 ROTARY NATIONAL AWARD FOR SPACE ACHIEVEMENT

Jamie Barney of ATK Launch Systems - Extraordinary personal dedication and technical accomplishments instrumental in ensuring customer and production requirements and expectations are met on the new Booster Separation Motor program.

Jose L. Barreda of Jacobs Technology, Inc. - Outstanding achievement as manager of the Potable Water Dispenser project for the International Space Station(ISS) program.

Scott C. Bird of The Boeing Company - Outstanding contributions to the development and execution of the shuttle debris analysis processes and procedures.

1st Lt. David E. Drake of the USAF, 30th Launch Support Squadron - Outstanding leadership as Satellite Mission manager for the experimental Space Based Space Surveillance satellite launch, responsible for integrating all processing actions.

Anthony R. Frego of ATK Launch

Systems - Outstanding ability to assess postflight hardware conditions and to evaluate, analyze and resolve hardware issues to ensure human spaceflight safety.

Elliot P. Harik of The Boeing Company - Exceptional contributions, leadership and technical prowess in support of solar array rotary joint anomaly resolution for the ISS).

Timothy Hinerman of Pratt & Whitney Rocketdyne - Outstanding leadership in developing combustion stability analysis tools and applying them successfully to J-2X engine and attitude control thruster analysis.

Christopher J. Johnson of NASA Johnson Space Center (JSC)- Outstanding leadership and technical expertise leading to space technology advances in the areas of the Orion landing and recovery system, space habitat inflatables, and Space Shuttle impact detection.

Dr. Benjamin S. Kirk of NASA JSC- Outstanding technical contributions in determination of accurate aerothermal environments for safe operation of the Space Shuttle orbiter and development of the Orion spacecraft.

Capt. Garrett W. Knowlan of the USAF - Exceptional contributions to space-based global navigation leading to a common global positioning system (GPS)-Galileo signal for civilian use between the United States and Europe, the next generation GPS civil signal design for an expected 1 billion users, and a 25 percent increase in GPS military signal power to the warfighter.

Jonathan Lenius of NASA JSC - Outstanding contributions to the design of Altair, the next generation human lunar lander.

Eduardo A. Lopez of The Boeing Company - Dedicated leadership in implementing innovative ideas to improve

Griffin's advice to Stellar Award nominees: "Do what you love, and you'll never work a day in your life." Space Shuttle integrated propulsion propellant reconstruction, data analysis and anomaly resolution methods that advance technical product quality and safety of flight.

Timothy M. Miller of MEI Technologies, Inc. - Outstanding contributions to far-infrared ground-based astronomy

through development, fabrication, and assembly of a novel infrared detector, and technology development of highly sensitive large-format arrays for future observing missions.

Jose A. Moreira of Booz Allen Hamilton - Outstanding technical excellence and leadership in the development and coordination of H-II Transfer Vehicle Proximity Operations Timelines for ISS program integration.

Charisse Pua of Pratt & Whitney Rocketdyne - Outstanding leadership and creativity in resolving the Space Shuttle main engine powerhead missed-penetrant inspection issue.

Travis B. Ripps of United Space Alliance - Exceptional diligence, dedication to safety, pro-activeness and attention to detail resulting in enhanced safety of the Space Shuttle crew and vehicle.

1st Lt. Annette O. Rivas of the USAF - Exceptional contributions to the future of small space lift-and-target vehicle development in support of the Defense Advanced Research Project Agency, the Space and Missile Systems Center, and the Missile Defense Agency national defense missions through assurance, software development and hardware test and evaluation.

Alvaro C. Rodriguez of NASA JSC - Technical excellence, leadership and dedication to the Space Shuttle

program in the area of leading edge structural subsystem engineering and operations.

Zebulon L. Scoville of NASA JSC -Superior technical contributions and leadership in the area of extravehicular activity (EVA) during the most dynamic period in EVA history.

Jennifer L. Stothers of Pratt & Whitney Rocketdyne - Outstanding leadership and dedication in the design and development of the J-2X pneumatic control assembly.

Mary H. Trenolone of Lockheed

Martin - Exceptional leadership and technical excellence in the execution of critical test, verification and flight inte-

shown here

gration products that ensured safety of flight and mission success for Space Shuttle, NASA-Mir and ISS programs.

Lt. Brooks R Turnquist of the USAF - Outstanding contributions to national ballistic missile defense efforts developing operationally responsive space concepts and

programs supporting the local community.

Kenneth N. Utley of The Boeing Company -Exemplary discharge of responsibilities related to aging orbiter wiring infrastructure, ensuring its ability to support the Space Shuttle manifest safely.

Michael J. VanWoerkom of Lockheed Martin - Outstanding contributions to the design and development of the NASA Orion crew module that have been invaluable to the progress of the project.

Capt. Bai L Zhu of the USAF - Outstanding contributions as an evolved expendable launch vehicles responsible engineer, leading mis-

sion assurance and anomaly resolution efforts to restore the United States' heavy launch capability and to drive process and safety improvements.

2008 Early Career Category Stellar Award Winners L to R: Astronaut Leland Melvin (presenting), Jessica A. Stuart. Paul Albert Parker. 1st Lt. Anna E. Gunn-Golkin, Thomas N. Martin III. Maj. David J. Laird, and Astronaut Sunni Williams (presenting). (NASA)



