for Space Achievement

Board of Advisors

Abbey, George W. S. Albaugh, Jim Aldrich, Arnold D. Aldridge, Jr., Edward C. Allen Lew Armstrong, Neil A. Asker Jim Augustine, Norman R. Brandenstein, Dan Cabana, Robert Campbell, Donald J. Carr, Jeffrey E. Carreau, Mark E. Cernan, Eugene Coats, Michael L. Cohen, Aaron Collins, Eileen M. Covey, Richard O. Crippen, Robert Culbertson, Jr., Frank L. Dickman, Robert Dittemore, Ronald D. Engle, Joe H. Estess, Roy S. Fuqua, Donald Gerstenmaier, William H. Glenn, Jr., John H. Griffin, Gerald D. Griffin, Michael D. Hartsfield, Henry W. Hartz, Jim Heflin, J. Milt Hendershot, Cynthia Hill. Shepard W. Holloway, Tommy W. Hutchinson, Neil B. Hutchison, Kay Bailey Johnson, Sandra G. Karas, John C. Kerwin, Joseph P. Kraft, Jr., Christopher C. Kranz, Eugene F. Kropp, Debbie Lunney, Glynn S. McCall, Robert T. Mitchell, Bob Mueller, George E. O'Brien, Miles Parsons. William W. Pickens, III, Thomas B. Pulham, Elliot G. Readdy, William F. Reightler, Kenneth S. Schmitt, Harrison H. Shaw, Brewster H. Short, Tom W. Stafford, Thomas P. Staples, William A. Stephens, Richard D. Stone, Randy Truly, Richard H. Vantine, William Wilkins, III, John S.

Young, John W.

PRESS RELEASE

For immediate release April 13, 2010

Media Contact: Marianne Dyson, 281-486-4747, dyson@rnasa.org

Mayor to Welcome NASA Administrators, past and present

Houston Mayor **Annise Parker** will welcome both the current NASA Administrator **Charles Bolden Jr.**, and his predecessor, Dr. **Mike Griffin**, to the city on the occasion of the Rotary National Award for Space Achievement (RNASA) annual awards banquet April 30 at the Houston Hyatt Regency.

Both administrators will speak at the banquet honoring NASA Associate Administrator for Human Spaceflight, **Bill Gerstenmaier**. Bolden is the keynote speaker, and Griffin will share in presenting the National Space Trophy to Gerstenmaier along with Johnson Space Center (JSC) Director **Michael Coats**.

Rodolfo González, President of the RNASA Foundation, said, "Our purpose is to recognize outstanding achievements by individuals and teams in support of our nation's space program. We are extremely pleased to have the Mayor join us in welcoming these distinguished leaders to Houston." The Foundation, based in Houston, was created in 1987 by members of the Space Center Rotary Club.

Veteran reporter and RNASA Advisor **Miles O'Brien** will emcee the event that also features the announcement of the winners of Stellar Awards that recognize the "unsung heroes" of the space program in four categories. González reports, "We received 32 Early Career, 42 Middle Career, 29 Late Career, and 33 Team category nominations this year representing NASA, the United States Air Force, and 25 different corporations."

The 103 nominees and team representatives will enjoy a behind-the-scenes tour of JSC and a luncheon presentation by Hubble Servicing Mission Pilot, Captain **Gregory C. Johnson**, UNS (Ret.) at the Nassau Bay Hilton April 30. Winners, chosen by an Evaluation Panel including former National Space Trophy winner **Dr. Christopher Kraft Jr.**, will be presented at the evening banquet by Astronauts **Michael Foreman**, Capt., USN (Ret.), and **K. Megan McArthur**, PhD.

The reception begins at 6 p.m. with music by pianist **Victoria Reva**. The welcome by the mayor is at 7 p.m., followed by presentation of the colors by **Clear Brook High School Army JROTC**, and the national anthem sung by **Hans Stockenberger**. After dinner, the expected crowd of more than 800 will enjoy Year-in-Review and Shuttle Tribute videos produced by Space City Films. Following the keynote and award presentations, Apollo veteran Lt. Gen. **Thomas Stafford**, USAF (Ret.) will present an OMEGA watch to Mr. Gerstenmaier.

Visit http://www.rnasa.org for photos, profiles, sponsor, and ticket information.

-END-